Skip to main content

Danza Ricercata

Danza Ricercata Tânia Carvalho


It was after watching a performance of “A Slowness That Looks Like a Velocity” – created and performed solo by Tânia Carvalho, where she dances and plays the piano – that Joana Gama decided to contact the choreographer, hoping to collaborate. This encounter led to “Danza Ricercata” (2008) in which, based on György Ligeti’s “Musica Ricercata”, Tânia Carvalho choreographed the pianist’s movements for the piece. In 2020, in response to a commission from Luca Chiantore, as part of the celebrations of Beethoven’s birth, they premiered “Danza Variada” at the Palau de la Música in Valencia, created based on the German composer’s Variations in C minor.

In these two solos created by Tânia Carvalho for the pianist, Joana Gama interprets canonical pieces from the piano repertoire as part of a theatrical delirium in which the sober figure we associate with the interpretation of this type of music is greatly extravagated.

Artistic and Technical Information


Choreography: Tânia Carvalho
Piano, interpretation: Joana Gama
Music: György Ligeti, Música Ricercata, 11 pièces pour piano (1951-1953)
Production: Tânia Carvalho
Production, diffusion (until Dez 14): Sofia Matos/Bomba Suicida